Need help placing an order?
Call our Order Line
(Do NOT call this number to check on an order) (702) 419-0404 9am-7pm Pacific
Check On Your Order
Free Shipping - Limited Time Offer


Chalmers Award

By: X Bats

There have been three different "most valuable player" awards in baseball since 1911. The Chalmers Award was the first of those three and it was presented by between 1911 and 1914 by Chalmers Automotive — a Detroit based automobile company. By 1915 the Chalmers Award was no longer considered popular. Rumors about possible cheating and the inability for any player to win more than once were factors which led to its demise.

National League

Year Player Pos HR RBI Avg
1911 Wildfire Schulte, Ch OF 21 121 .300
1912 Larry Doyle, NY 2B 10 90 .330
1913 Jake Daubert, Bklyn 1B 2 52 .350
1914 Johnny Evers, Bos 2B 1 40 .279

American League

Year Player Pos HR RBI Avg
1911 Ty Cobb, Det OF 8 144 .420
1912 Tris Speaker, Bos OF 10 98 .383
1913 Walter Johnson, Wash P - - -
1914 Eddie Collins, Phi 2B 2 85 .344



No reviews on this product yet. Be the first to review this product!